With the 2020 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola coming up this weekend, reigning Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton has yet another chance to add to his already legendary racing resume. The British, a six-time champion already, has the chance to take his 72nd Grand Prix win on Sunday, which would match Michael Schumacher‘s record for most wins with the same constructor.

It will not be easy, of course, as Hamilton’s teammate, Valtteri Bottas, is allowed to fight him and Red Bull can take advantage of Imola’s two-day weekend to be close to the Black Arrows.CM8-77


If Hamilton does succeed in achieving his unprecedented 72nd career win, the feat will be unique, as the Englishman is the only driver in F1 history to win a race in each season he has competed in.

For Hamilton, the victory would be his ninth in 13 races of this season.

Another win at a new circuit would be Hamilton’s third of the year, as he took victory honours in the 2020 Tuscan Grand Prix at F1’s first in the Mugello Circuit and his record-breaking 92nd GP win at Portugal last weekend.

How Hamilton’s victories were achieved year by year?

The Englishman entered Formula 1 in 2007 with McLaren, which had Mercedes engines on their cars. In his rookie season, Hamilton finished second in the World Championship of Drivers by one point after winning a joint-record four wins as a rookie.

In his second year, Hamilton went all the way and won the Formula 1 World Championship to become the then youngest racer to ever do it. In 2008, Hamilton won five races on his way to the title.

The 2009 campaign was harsh for McLaren and Hamilton, but the reigning champion at the time still found a way to take two victories in the year (Hungary and Singapore). Three victories in 2010 helped him to be in contention for the title until the last race for the third time in his first four F1 years, and three more wins followed in 2011.

In his last year with McLaren, Hamilton took four wins before moving to the Mercedes works team in 2013. The British driver won one race in 2013, the Hungarian Grand Prix.

At the start of the turbo-hybrid era in 2014, Hamilton returned to World Championship form and took the title with 11 wins, his career-best. The 2015 campaign saw him take 10 more wins, becoming the first driver to have consecutive seasons with at least 10 wins.

In 2016, he won 10 more races in a year which reliability did not help him. Nine wins in 2017 were followed by 11 in 2018 and 2019, while eight wins in the first 12 races of 2020 helped him surpass Schumacher’s record of 91 Grand Prix wins.

Can he continue to make history and reach his 72nd win for Mercedes?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping cart

Start typing to see products you are looking for.

Sign in


Sidebar Scroll To Top


to receive special discounts, promotions and more...

Will be used in accordance to our Privacy Policy
image 34-min